Volume 1


by Gordon Buttars



          Volume 1 – Geannie is a look back at his early life between 1898 and 1926. He grew up in Roanoke, Virginia, next door to Geannie, the love of his life, who was born on the same day. Growing up, they were playmates, buddies, and best friends. Then one day, he discovered that she was a young woman and they were sweethearts ever after. Both Curly and Geannie grew up in religious homes, which established a pattern of living for the rest of their lives. More than anything else, Curly wanted to fly and become a pilot. To accomplish his goal, he followed in the footsteps of his grandfather and uncle and attended the United States Naval Academy.
          After he graduated and received his commission in the United States Navy and she had graduated from Hollins College with a teaching certificate, they were married on their twenty-third birthdays. Rather than begin their lives together, he departed on a nine month round the world cruise with his ship. Even after he returned, she remained in Roanoke where she taught school while he was stationed 250 miles away in Norfolk, Virginia.
          After two years of sea duty, he was accepted into flight school and they moved to Pensacola, Florida where they learned to live together and started a family, where their daughter Sandy was born. Once he received his wings, the real adventure began when they moved clear across the country to San Diego, California where he was assigned to a squadron stationed at North Island Naval Air Station.
          As Curly and Geannie settled in to living in Southern California, they explored their new surroundings, including a trip to Ensenada, Mexico. Together they faced the challenges that were put before them and grew from them. It was while living there that they established life-long friendships with Shorty and Wilma Sharp, Freddy and Susan McGowan, who Curly flew with, and particularly Ramona North and Harvey Morrison. Ramona especially was to become an integral part of their lives.
          Volume 1 culminates with a harrowing experience that Geannie had to go through and how she came to forgive the perpetrator.

Chapter I Flying High December 7, 1898 – June 9, 1917 Page 1
Chapter II The Academy & Hollins June 10, 1917 – June 30, 1921 Page 21
Chapter III Wedding Bells July 1, 1921 – January 2, 1922 Page 39
Chapter IV Newlyweds January 6, 1922 – November 1, 1923 Page 55
Chapter V Living Together November 1, 1923 – May 15, 1294 Page 67
Chapter VI Gold Wings & Pink Booties May 28, 1924 – November 4, 1924 Page 81
Chapter VII Pushing the Limits November 4, 1924 – June 20, 1925 Page 95
Chapter VIII Exploring Southern California June 21, 1925 – November 20, 1925 Page 107
Chapter IX Madam Stella's Fashion Boutique November 21, 1925 – December 25, 1925 Page 121
Chapter X Growing Pains January 10, 1926 – March 20, 1926 Page 133
Chapter XI War Games March 21, 1926 – June 30, 1926 Page 145
Chapter XII Rendezvous in San Francisco June 30, 1926 – July 19, 1926 Page 155
Chapter XIII The Heroine of Coronado July 6, 1926 – July 19, 1926 Page 167
Chapter XIV Forgiveness July 19, 1926 – July 25, 1926 Page 179

Return to main page